HIMSS announces physician, nursing leadership award winners

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Google icon

HIMSS has issued its annual awards for physician IT leadership and nursing informatics leadership.

Brian Yeaman, MD, founder and president of Norman, Oklahoma-based Yeaman and Associates and Yeaman Signature Health Clinic has been named the recipient of the 2015 HIMSS Physician IT Leadership Award for his work in Meaningful Use (MU) and health information exchange.

Yeaman previously served as CMIO at Norman Regional Health System for 10 years, where he guided both inpatient and outpatient EHR implementations and Stage 1 and 2 MU attestation.

Mary Beth Mitchell, RN, chief nursing informatics officer at Texas Health Resources (THR), has won the 2015 HIMSS Nursing Informatics Leadership Award, specifically recognized for helping make THR a national leader in its use of health IT.

Mitchell is in charge of leading nurse utilization and EHR optimization and other health IT at the Texas health system. She has shared her expertise with nursing informatics through presentations, books and articles in professional journals. Under her leadership, THR has won both the HIMSS Stage 7 and Davies Awards.